SHERWOOD-JAYNE HOUSE


A Brief History: Located at 55 Old Post Road in East Setauket, the Sherwood-Jayne House has stood since the 1730’s. Originally constructed as the farmhouse and surrounding buildings on the property acted as an operation farmstead for the better part of 150 years by decedents of the Jayne family. The land was then purchased in 1908 by Howard C. Sherwood; the founder of Preservation Long Island, as a means to showcase his affinity towards collecting and restoring antiques. Sherwood spared no expense and hired the leading Colonial restoration expert, Joseph Everett Chandler, to make sure the property was a proper representation of Long Island farm life in the 1800’s. Presently the grounds are publicly accessible until dusk, and period tours of the buildings are offered from June through October.


Haunted History: Visitors have claimed to see a man in a blue coat pacing back and forth on the grounds of the property and then just disappear. People have also claimed to have felt cold spots and hear disembodied voices throughout the house.